Battle of the 5.7L: Stock Full in the 2014 Baja 1000

Battle of the 5.7L: Stock Full in the 2014 Baja 1000

2014 Baja 1000 Toyota Land Cruiser

 Jonathan Harris : Words | Photos : Daniel Markofsky

47 years in the making, the Baja 1000 is a race known to enthusiasts and laypeople worldwide. Running a brutal 1275 miles from Ensenada to La Paz, the 2014 Baja 1000 is open to just about every vehicle type imaginable, and everyone from the trophy trucks to the class 11 VWs pays the same entry fee. This year we are fortunate enough to have a stowaway on board. Land Cruiser editor, Daniel Markofsky is embedded with Team #8155, Canguro Racing, a Stock Full team racing a 200 series Land Cruiser. Growing from strong root in the Land Cruiser culture, the 200 series was a perfect fit for the crew.

This is not your mama’s mall wagon however: Sporting 13” of rear suspension travel from the King bypass shocks, 37” BFG Baja T/As, gearing from Nitro Gears and Intensity lighting from ARB. The team is not new to desert racing with previous experience in class V, so they’re fully prepared for the rigors of this race. The team passed contingency today and will be leaving this afternoon. Drivers include Marc Van Tassell, Kurt Williams and Dave Connors.

2014 Baja 1000 Toyota Land Cruiser Team Canguro

Canguro Racing is not the only 5.7L on the course today. They will be facing steep competition with the Toyota factory sponsored team #8199, TRDPro Tundra. Coached by Racing legend Ivan “Ironman” Stewart, the Tundra sports 37” BFG Baja T/As, TRD Intake and Exhaust, Bilstein shocks and Hella HID Lighting, we are highly anticipating the turnout of this class category. The TRDPro Tundra will be driven by Ted Moncure, Andy Bell, Jamie Bestwick and Ryan Millen.

2014 Baja 1000 Toyota Tundra TRD Pro

The guys at Canguro were had cordial conversation with the TRD team that went something like this:
    TRD: “I wish they would make a TRD Land Cruiser.”
    Canguro: “They didn’t need to, it's a Land Cruiser.”

Good luck to both teams and we’ll see you at the finish line!

2014 Baja 1000 Toyota Cruisers and Trucks

In addition to the teams above, other Toyota entries include

  • 704 - Aaron Celiceo (Tacoma)
  • 27 Enrique Murillo (Tundra)
  • 2001 Mark Luhtala (Tundra)

Watch the driver’s progress today live at by searching for their entry number.

[flickr set=72157648858730269]